Poisonous Nut or Tasty Treat

image courtesy of Ohio-Nature.com

The buckeye nut hails from the Buckeye tree, which happens to be the state tree of Ohio. I grew up smashing their spiky cases and collecting the smooth interesting and slightly poisonous nuts.

During some recent walks I noticed similar spiky balls in the neighborhood.

They reminded me of my childhood antics and a yummy peanut butter treat. I had never made them myself, but after a little research the recipe turned out pretty simple.

I adapted a recipe featured on Sweet Talk by Big Fat Baker. Basically, I wanted a smaller recipe so I cut everything in half and improvised a little.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2  cup butter, softened
  • 1 cups smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips (after taste-test next time I will use milk chocolate)
  • toothpicks

  1. Mix the butter, peanut butter, and vanilla with your mixer.
  2. Slowly mix in the powdered sugar.

I didn’t pay attention to the directions and mixed all of the ingredients at once. My mixture was a little dry so I added a small amount of peanut butter and drizzled some milk.

Much Better

         3. Roll mixture into 1 inch balls and place on parchment lined cookie sheet.

        4. Place balls into refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

         5. Put a toothpick in each ball.

I was out of toothpicks, so I used one giant skewer after the balls firmed.

          6. Melt the chips in a double boiler or in 15 second increments in the microwave.

           7. Pick up the balls by the toothpick or skewer and dip into the chocolate.

Make sure you leave an eye of peanut butter sticking out.

        8. Place the buckeyes back on the backing tray and into the fridge to cool.

Don’t forget to remove the toothpicks.

Wait for the chocolate to harden and then dig in.

Oliver was patiently waiting for some peanut butter of his own, so I couldn’t deny the sweet guy a little clean up.

Don’t worry it was the end of the container and he only got a few licks.

For more information on the Buckeye Tree and its history check out Northwest Ohio Nature.

I have been thinking about different variations on the treat like mixing banana in the peanut butter or a dog friendly version. Have any ideas or tips on how to make them?

12 thoughts on “Poisonous Nut or Tasty Treat

  1. I like this post! I have an affair with cooking and this, somehow, echoed back the affair I neglected for months already.

    Describe more how it tasted?

    Your blog made me think of writing an entry on chocolatey-effect-on-behavior!

    Stay rewired and a bold wanderer! =)

    1. It is more like a peanut butter fudge with a bland chocolate coating. I think that going more one way or the other with the chocolate would appeal to me more. Either milk or dark.

Leave a Reply

