Maui, Hawaii: Captivated in Captivity

At the beginning of December I received a life changing text message.

Awesome Family: Would you be available to go with us to Hawaii at the end of the month?

Me: (panic attack, what do I do, this family is super nice and Hawaii Oh My God!, yes I can nanny for a week in Hawaii. Maybe I should say no, ahhh) Yes I would love too.

Oceanfront walk in WaileaThe arrangements were made and I would travel to Hawaii for the first time with an amazing family on my first travel nanny position. Nanny work is one of my many Jack-of-all-trade positions and traveling with families was something I had been dreaming about for the past 4 years.

I was so nervous about packing and carry on regulations, but a handy trip to the TSA website helped me out with all of my questions. The family had asked me to bring a few activities to do with the girls during down time and I was in need of some travel size everything. I packed card games that I bought from a dollar bin like crazy 8s, matching games, and old maid. I also picked up a foam craft kit that for $6 gave us the creativity to do make photos with the stickers or color whatever we wanted. The girls were super happy and since everything was under $10, I didn’t mind leaving them behind to make extra room for souvenirs.

This trip to Hawaii was more amazing than I could have imagined. I was constantly blown away by the food, the people, the beauty, and the weather. We stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Maui. The resort was ocean side with multiple pools and activities. One of my favorite things was a wonderful walking path that connected all of the resorts and condos along the Ocean. Whenever I had time off this walk is where I could be found.

I was on the Island for work and so most of my time was spent at the resort. The children were old enough to enjoy themselves in the pool or at the beach, but a little to young to go on adventures like the Road to Hana or a Luau. This trip peaked my interest enough about Hawaii, that I am dying to return all of the Islands and explore the beautiful culture on the land and its people.I often felt like I was looking through the window at unattainable land.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the entirety of this trip and what I did experience is beyond any price point that I could reach at this point in my life. I am truly grateful for this once in a lifetime opportunity. I did have one night off to myself and I used it to walk a few miles to the mall and have dinner. I treated myself to a Hawaiian must: the Mai Tai.

It was so sweet that I had trouble finishing the whole thing, but after dinner I experienced my favorite part of Hawaii. The night sky. I don’t have a fancy camera, so I was unable to take any wonderful photos of the sky but during arts and crafts I made a great sand art rendition. I laid on the beach in darkness, listening the waves, and staring at the sky for hours. The only thing better than staring at the night sky alone, would be staring at the night sky with my husband. Hawaiin Night Sky

There is something so tranquil about Hawaii, which is strange because you are basically on a mountain of death. I fell in love with the essence of Hawaii and I am looking for someone to help me bottle it, please contact me if you have any suggestions. I am currently dreaming about moving there temporarily and it has definitely been added to a list of must visit. I owe the hubby a trip for sure.

18 thoughts on “Maui, Hawaii: Captivated in Captivity

  1. What an incredible and exciting experience for you. I have a dream to holiday in Maui. My husband lived as a teenager on the big Island. We’ve often talked about taking our children there and exploring all over the Hawaiian Islands. Such a special part of the world!

  2. I live on O’ahu; Hawaii is a truly special place. That’s so rad you were able to come and see it, but I also get what you mean about looking through a window. When you’re in an amazing place for work, it’s hard. Especially when your work is caring for small children – they’re so limited in what they can experience.

    Check out KeikiSitters.com – it’s a Hawaiian sitter site. It’s what I’ve used to find my work as a nanny out here. Nannies and Sitters can make VERY good money in Hawaii. Especially in certain areas!

    Check it out, maybe you’ll find reason to come take a trip out here with your husband, and you could work part of the time and experience Hawaii the rest of the time!!

      1. it’s totally the best site for finding sitting/nannying work out here (at least on oahu it is)- I’ve gotten more offers than I’ve been able to take. If you want input on locations, wages, etc. – don’t hesitate to hit me up for advice. Depending on your experience (which it sounds like you’ve plenty of), you can make very decent money this way.

Leave a Reply

